val de loire

Le meilleur guide pour visiter le Val de Loire en France

Jardin de France | Val de Loire

Populairement connue comme le « jardin de la France », le Val de Loire est l'une des régions principales à visiter en France. La vallée n'est pas seulement célèbre pour ses vins et sa gastronomie, mais aussi pour ses châteaux, son architecture et les villes historiques que l'on peut y visiter. D'Amboise à Angers, il y a beaucoup de villes brillantes et de châteaux à explorer ici. En 2000, la Vallée de la Loire a été inscrite au patrimoine de l'UNESCO afin de préserver l'histoire et la culture de la région.

Où se trouve le Val de Loire ?

Pourquoi visiter le Val de Loire ?

region val de loire
  • Abritant des centaines de magnifiques châteaux de style Renaissance, la Vallée de la Loire fait partie de la liste des sites du patrimoine de l'UNESCO depuis décembre 2000.
  • Les villes historiques pavées, les cités et les châteaux font partie des atouts de la Vallée de la Loire qui attirent les visiteurs et les amateurs d'histoire du monde entier.
  • De nombreux châteaux du Val de Loire possèdent de magnifiques jardins décorés de fleurs, de fruits et de légumes, et de fontaines.
  • Une autre raison importante de visiter la Vallée de la Loire, en France, est qu'elle abrite des vignobles qui produisent des vins de classe mondiale. Du vin blanc sec au vin mousseux, vous trouverez ici une grande variété de vins qui conviendront à tous les palais.

Quelle est la meilleure période pour visiter le Val de Loire ?

La Vallée de la Loire se trouve dans le centre de la France et connaît donc un climat chaud en été et un climat froid en hiver. L'été est la saison de pointe et les châteaux de la Loire ont tendance à être un peu bondés. La plupart des jardins et des châteaux ne sont pas ouverts en hiver en raison de rénovations. Si vous souhaitez découvrir la Vallée de la Loire sous son meilleur jour, planifiez une visite au printemps, en automne ou à la fin de l'été. Il y a moins de visiteurs en été et en automne, ce qui vous permet d'explorer les châteaux en toute tranquillité.

Châteaux de la Loire

Domaine de Chaumont-sur-Loire
Château de Chambord
Château d'Azay-le-Rideau
Château du Clos Lucé
Château Amboise
Château de Chenonceau
Château d'Angers
Château de Blois

Histoire du Val de Loire

La vallée de la Loire est riche en histoire et en culture. En raison de ses richesses matérielles, elle a été disputée par un grand nombre d'adversaires. Des Romains à Atila le Hun, tous ont tenté de prendre le contrôle de la terre et de profiter des richesses qu'elle recèle. 

On dit que la région s'est formée en 52 avant J.-C. après la conquête par Jules César, mais c'est à l'empereur Auguste que l'on doit d'avoir apporté la stabilité et la paix dans la vallée. Au début du Moyen Âge, des forteresses médiévales ont été construites dans la vallée de la Loire pour se défendre contre les envahisseurs. En 1516, François Ier, amateur d'art, fait venir Léonard de Vinci dont l'influence italienne peut être observée dans les châteaux et les jardins de la vallée de la Loire.

À l'époque de la Renaissance française, la cour royale était établie dans la Vallée de la Loire. C'était un endroit stratégique pour le commerce, et le paysage magnifique et luxuriant attirait les aristocrates français qui y construisaient de magnifiques châteaux pour leur plaisir.

Villes et villages du Val de Loire

region val de loire

Voyagez dans le temps en visitant les charmantes villes et les cités historiques du Val de Loire, en France, qui ont conservé leur authenticité au fil des ans. La Vallée de la Loire est située dans la région administrative du Centre-Val de Loire, et la capitale officielle de la région est Orléans. 

Cette ville abrite des merveilles architecturales comme le château de Chenonceau et le château de Chambord, ainsi que les villes historiques d'Amboise, Loches et Chinon. Les meilleures cathédrales de cette région se trouvent dans les villes d'Orléans, de Bourges et de Chartres. Le Centre-Val de Loire présente un paysage varié avec de nombreux villages et villes historiques charmants, dont certains possèdent leur propre château et jardin. Visitez les petits villages pour une expérience française authentique ou flânez dans les villes médiévales de la vallée de la Loire.

Régions du Val de Loire

La région Centre-Val de Loire, également connue sous le nom de région Centre, est l'une des régions administratives de la France. Cette région comprend la majeure partie de la Loire, y compris la moitié centrale de la région. Le Centre-Val de Loire peut être divisé en six départements : Cher, Eure-et-Loir, Indre, Indre-et-Loire, Loir-et-Cher et Loiret.

  • Cher : Nommé d'après la rivière Cher, il comprend des châteaux importants comme le château d'Ainay-le-Vieil, le château de Culan, le château du Grand-Besse, le château de Pesselières, ainsi que d'autres châteaux qui sont actuellement en ruines ou dont il reste des fragments.
  • Eure-et-Loir : Nommée d'après les rivières de l'Eure et du Loir, cette région comprend principalement le château d'Anet, le château de Châteaudun, le château de Levesville et le château de Maintenon, qui ont tous été reconstruits et réaffectés à différentes périodes de l'histoire.
  • Indre-et-Loire : Cette région du centre-ouest de la France doit son nom aux rivière Indre et Loire. Elle abrite certains des châteaux les plus intéressants de l'histoire de la vallée de la Loire qui ont été restaurés pour être utilisés, comme le château d'Amboise, le château de La Celle-Guenand, le château de Chinon, le château de la Guerche, le château de Langeais, le château de Montpoupon, le château du Rivau et plusieurs autres. Il est intéressant de noter que la plupart des châteaux de cette région sont encore intacts ou ont été reconstruits.
  • Indre : Cette région centrale de la France doit son nom à la rivière Indre. Elle abrite certains des châteaux les plus intéressants de l'histoire de la vallée de la Loire qui ont été restaurés pour être utilisés, comme le château d'Ingrandes et le château du Mont, tandis que plusieurs autres châteaux restent en ruines.
  • Loir-et-Cher : Traversée par deux rivières, le Loir dans sa partie nord et le Cher dans sa partie sud, il compte quelques châteaux célèbres comme le Domaine de Chaumont-sur-Loire, le château de Fougères-sur-Bièvre, le château de Matval et le château du Moulin, tandis que d'autres châteaux sont en ruine.
  • Loiret : Nommé d'après la rivière Loiret, le Château de Bellegarde, le Château de Chamerolles, le Château de Meung-sur-Loire et le Château de Sully-sur-Loire sont quelques-uns des châteaux qui restent intacts, ou qui ont été reconstruits ou réaffectés.

Planifiez votre visite dans le Val de Loire

Comment s'y rendre
Météo
Restauration
Activités
region val de loire

Pays : France.

  • En voiture : Durée : 2 h 52 par l'A10.
    Coût : 140 à 150 €.
  • En bus : Durée : 3 h.
    Coût : environ 10 €.
  • En train : Durée : 1 h 14 en TGV.
    Coût : de 10 € à 90 €.
region val de loire

Région centrale de la France, la région du Val de Loire autour de Nantes et d'Anjou bénéficie d'un climat tempéré en raison des influences océaniques, tandis que des régions comme la Touraine jouissent d'un climat semi-continental. Avec des précipitations douces pendant presque toutes les saisons de l'année, la Vallée de la Loire bénéficie d'un climat agréable et confortable. Ce temps est propice à la culture des vignobles et parfait pour explorer la région sans aucune gêne.

Meilleur moment pour visiter : Compte tenu de la haute saison et des vents froids en hiver, la meilleure période pour visiter la vallée de la Loire est le printemps, d'avril à juin, et l'automne, de septembre à octobre.

region val de loire

Il y a un tas de restaurants célèbres dans la vallée de la Loire, avec des bars et des vignobles offrant des boissons de qualité. Voici quelques-uns des meilleurs que vous pouvez essayer :

Crêperie La Dentelle : Vous pouvez profiter du plein air en vous asseyant à l'extérieur dans ce petit restaurant situé au cœur de Tours. 

La Balade Gourmande - Epicerie Fine : Si vous recherchez un goût local à partir d'ingrédients de première qualité cultivés localement, c'est l'endroit idéal.

Restaurant Les Hauts de Loire : Pour ceux qui recherchent des options de restauration fine, c'est un excellent choix, comme en témoignent les deux étoiles Michelin.

Le Chai au Manoir de Restigné : On y trouve l'une des meilleures collections de vins de la ville.

visiter les chateaux de la loire

La Vallée de la Loire ne se résume pas aux châteaux et aux jardins. Voici une liste de choses que vous pouvez faire dans le Val de Loire :

  • Visitez Terra Botanica, un parc botanique
  • Visitez le Parc Oriental de Maulévrier, le plus grand jardin oriental d'Europe
  • Profitez des manèges du Grand Éléphant de Nantes, un manège pour enfants
  • Visitez le Centre de création contemporaine Olivier Debré, une galerie d'art contemporain
  • Explorez la cathédrale de Chartres
  • Visitez le parc national régional Loire-Anjou-Touraine

Que faire dans le Val de Loire

visiter les chateaux de la loire

Visite des châteaux de la Loire

Comme la vallée est inscrite au patrimoine de l'UNESCO depuis 2000, les châteaux de la Loire sont célèbres dans le monde entier. Ces châteaux constituent le patrimoine architectural de plusieurs villes historiques du Val de Loire, telles qu'Amboise, Chinon, Blois, Angers, et bien d'autres. Il existe plus de 300 châteaux de la Loire, allant des châteaux fortifiés aux somptueuses résidences construites par la suite. Si vous êtes fasciné par l'histoire des aristocrates français, visitez les châteaux de la Loire pour avoir un aperçu de leur vie et de leurs précieux jardins.

jardins de la loire

Explorez les jardins de la vallée de la Loire

La Vallée de la Loire est populairement connue comme le jardin de la France. La région bénéficie d'un climat doux, d'un sol fertile et est naturellement arrosée par les rivières, ce qui facilite la culture des fruits, des légumes et des fleurs. Lorsque les châteaux de la Vallée de la Loire ont été construits, la plupart d'entre eux comprenaient de vastes jardins dans l'enceinte du château pour que la royauté française puisse en profiter. Le jardin formel de style français du château de Villandry est l'un des meilleurs jardins français. Le Domaine de Chaumont-sur-Loire accueille également chaque année le Festival international des jardins, où des artistes paysagistes créent de magnifiques jardins.

vignoble de la vallée de la loire

Visite des vignobles de la vallée de la Loire

L'une des meilleures choses à faire est de déguster les célèbres vins de la vallée de la Loire, connue pour ses vignobles de renommée mondiale. Les visiteurs peuvent trouver des vignobles de Nantes à Sancerre et peuvent visiter plus de 1000 vignobles dans cette région. Parmi eux, il y a 400 caves à vin accréditées. Vous pouvez rencontrer les vignerons, faire le tour des vignobles et goûter les différents types de vins de la Vallée de la Loire. Les amateurs de vin peuvent également assister à plusieurs événements divertissants organisés dans la région.

montgolfière chambord

Vol en montgolfière

Envolez-vous dans le ciel et admirez les forêts luxuriantes, les châteaux de contes de fées et les vignobles depuis une montgolfière. Commencez votre tour en montgolfière à partir de l'un des châteaux comme Amboise, Chenonceau, Chinon Cheverny, etc. Profitez de la vue aérienne sur ces merveilles architecturales depuis le ciel et sur le merveilleux paysage qui les entoure. Cette excursion est l'un des meilleurs moyens de découvrir la beauté de la Vallée de la Loire et de ses châteaux et jardins.

Foire aux questions : Val de Loire

Où se trouve la Vallée de la Loire ?

Le Val de Loire est situé au centre du nord de la France, dans les régions Centre-Val de Loire et Pays de la Loire. La région se trouve au sud-ouest et à environ 207 km de Paris.

Pourquoi la Vallée de la Loire est-elle importante dans l'histoire de la France ?

La Vallée de la Loire se trouve à un endroit stratégique pour le commerce, et les rois y avaient construit des châteaux fortifiés pour se défendre contre les envahisseurs. À l'époque de la Renaissance française, de nombreux aristocrates français se sont installés dans la vallée et ont construit des châteaux ou transformé des châteaux forts pour y résider.

Quelle est la distance entre la Vallée de la Loire et Paris ?

La Vallée de la Loire se trouve à environ 207 km de Paris. Visitez la page Paris - Val de Loire pour plus d'informations.

Comment rejoindre la Vallée de la Loire depuis Paris ?

La meilleure façon de se rendre de Paris aux châteaux de la Loire est d'y aller en voiture, car il n'y a que quelques gares à proximité des villes. Visitez la page Paris - Val de Loire pour plus d'informations.

Quel est le plus grand château de la Loire ?

Le château de Chambord est le plus grand château parmi les plus de 300 châteaux de la Loire disponibles dans cette région. Ce château était un pavillon de chasse pour François Ier dont les résidences était les châteaux d'Amboise et de Blois.

Pourquoi la Vallée de la Loire est-elle célèbre ?

La région du Val de Loire est célèbre pour ses châteaux et une large gamme de vins délicieux. On peut y explorer plus de 300 châteaux et 1000 vignobles.

Dans quelle région administrative se trouve la Vallée de la Loire ?

La Vallée de la Loire est située dans la région Centre-Val de Loire, en France.

Quels sont les départements de la région Centre-Val de Loire ?

Le Cher, l'Eure-et-Loir, l'Indre, l'Indre-et-Loire, le Loir-et-Cher et le Loiret sont les six départements dans lesquels la Vallée de la Loire est divisée.

Quel est le meilleur moment pour visiter le Val de Loire ?

Compte tenu de la haute saison et des vents froids en hiver, la meilleure période pour visiter la Vallée de la Loire est le printemps, d'avril à juin, et l'automne, de septembre à octobre

Loire Valley

The Ultimate Guide to Visiting The Loire Valley in France

Garden of France | Loire Valley

Popularly known as the 'Garden of France', Loire Valley is one of the top attractions to visit in France. The valley is not only famous for its wines and food but also for the castles, architecture, and the historic towns that one can visit here. From Amboise to Angers, there are many brilliant towns their castles to explore here. In 2000, Loire Valley became a part of the UNESCO Heritage site list to preserve the history and culture of the region.

Where Is The Loire Valley?

Located in central France, the Loire Valley spans an area of 280km and is right in the middle of the River Loire stretch. Due to the plenty of vineyards, gardens, fruit and vegetable patches, the area is often known as the Cradle of the French. This valley has a rich history and culture and is particularly well-known for its wines, historic towns, and architecture. This valley has been one of the sites on the list of the UNESCO Heritage Site since 2000. Amboise, Blois, Angers, Chinon, etc., are a few historical towns with their own grand chateaux that the visitors can explore.

Visiting Loire Valley from Paris

Why Visit The Loire Valley?

About Loire Valley
  • Home to hundreds of beautiful Renaissance-style castles, Loire Valley has been a part of the UNESCO Heritage Site list since December 2000.
  • The cobbled historic towns, cities, and chateaus are some of the best things about Loire Valley attracting tourists and history buffs worldwide.
  • Many Loire Valley Castles have beautiful gardens decorated with vibrant flower gardens, fruit and vegetable patches, and fountains.
  • Another important reason to visit Loire Valley, France, is that it is home to vineyards that make world-class wines. From dry white wine to sparkling wine, you will find a wide variety of wines here to suit every palate.

What Is The Best Time To Visit Loire Valley?

Loire Valley is in central France so, it experiences a hot climate in the summer season and a cold climate in the winter season. Summer season is the peak season so, Loire Valley Castles tend to be a little crowded. Most of the gardens and the castles would not be open in the winter season due to renovations. If you wish to experience the Loire Valley at its best, then plan a visit in the spring, autumn, or late summer season. There are fewer tourists in the summer and autumn seasons, allowing you to explore the castles in peace. 

Loire Valley Castles

Château de Chaumont Loire Valley

Château de Chaumont

Château de Chaumont, located around 18 km from Blois, is nothing less than a fairytale castle. It was a multi-tiered and fortress-like castle founded in 1000 and acquired by Catherine de Medicis in 1550. All the apartments in this chateau are decorated with artworks and historic tapestries. Several rooms have been recently renovated so that the visitors can experience the chateau in all its glory. Founded in the 10th century, it was later destroyed due to historical events and was rebuilt later in the 15th century.

Visit Château de Chaumont
Château de Chambord Loire Valley

Château de Chambord

Located on the left side of the River Loire, Château de Chambord is a breathtaking castle to look at. Built on a huge scale, this estate was created for Francois I in the 16th century. With 440 rooms, turreted towers, and a double-helix staircase, this castle was perfect for a king. Surrounded by a 32km long wall, there are six gates that grant access to the castle grounds. King Louis XIV stayed a lot in this castle and held hunting parties and gala balls during that time.

Visit Château de Chambord
Visit Château d'Azay-le-Rideau Loire Valley

Château d'Azay-le-Rideau

Another castle that looks straight out of a fairytale book is the Château d'Azay-le-Rideau, located on an island. Its facade reflects in the waters of the Indre River and gives it a dreamy look. Influenced by Italian Renaissance architecture, the castle was built in the 16th century and funded by a wealthy patron. The rib-vaulted kitchen, the richly decorated chimney, and the numerous tapestries in the dining room highlight this chateau.

Visit Château d'Azay-le-Rideau
Château de Clos Lucé Loire Valley

Château de Clos Lucé

Château de Clos Lucé is a top attraction in Amboise and is also the home of the talented Leonardo da Vinci for the last three years of his life. Visitors can explore this chateau to learn more about Leonardo da Vinci’s life and his achievements in the permanent exhibitions. There is also a Leonardo’s Garden which has been converted into an open-air museum to showcase his scientific research on botany and geology.

Visit Château de Clos Lucé
Visit Château d'Amboise Loire Valley

Château d'Amboise

Standing on the top of a cliff, Château d'Amboise is the most popular attraction in Amboise. This castle has been home to the French kings for five centuries and was built in the 15th century during the reign of Charles VIII. The castle was designed using late Gothic architecture and offers a stunning view of the Loire Valley. You will find intricately made gargoyles and sculptures on its facade and stained-glass windows lighting up the interiors of the chapel.

Visit Château d'Amboise
Château de Chenonceau Loire Valley

Château de Chenonceau

Château de Chenonceau is one of the most popular Loire Valley Castles and is an architectural wonder. The castle spans the River Cher and has been designed using a mix of late Gothic and Renaissance architectural styles. There are endless rooms and halls in the castle, all of which have been decorated fabulously by the influential women who lived here. These days, the castle attracts tourists worldwide to see its preserved interiors and floral decorations.

Visit Château de Chenonceau
Visit Château d'Angers

Château d'Angers

Perched on top of a crag, Château d'Angers overlooks the Maine River and is one of the top attractions in the historic town of Angers. Built in the 13th century, the fortress has thick defensive walls and 17 round towers surrounding it. From the 14th century, the castle became a work of art, offering panoramic views of the landscape from the ramparts and housing the famous tapestry collection, including the Tapestry of the Apocalypse.

Visit Château d'Angers
Château Royal de Blois Loire Valley

Château Royal de Blois

Located in the town of Blois, Château Royal de Blois was originally a fortified citadel and has been a residence for several kings throughout the years. The chateau is famous for its grand structure and reflects four different architectural styles in the four wings. One fine example of this is the Francis I wing that showcases Renaissance architecture with an octagonal staircase.

Visit Château Royal de Blois

History Of The Loire Valley

Loire Valley is rich in history and culture, and due to its material riches, it was fought over by a large number of adversaries. From Romans to Atila the Hun, everyone tried to take control over the land and enjoy the riches with it. 

The region is said to have been formed in 52BC after the conquer by Julius Caesar, but Emperor Augustus is responsible for bringing stability and peace to the valley. At the beginning of the Middle Ages, medieval fortresses were built in the Loire Valley as a defense against the invaders. In 1516, the art-loving Francois I brought Leonardo da Vinci whose Italian influence can be observed in the Loire valley chateaux and gardens.

During the time of the French Renaissance, the royal court was established in the Loire Valley. It was a strategic location for trade, and the beautiful, lush landscape attracted the French aristocrat to build magnificent castles here for pleasure.

Loire Valley Towns & Villages

About Loire Valley

Journey back in time as you visit the charming cities and the historical towns of Loire Valley, France, that have preserved their authenticity over the years. Loire Valley is located in the administrative region, Centre-Val de Loire, and the official capital of the region is Orleans. 

This city is home to architectural wonders such as Chateau de Chenonceau and Chateau de Chambord and also has historic towns of Amboise, Loches, and Chinon. The best cathedrals in this region can be found in the cities of Orleans, Bourges, and Chartres. Centre-Val de Loire has a diverse landscape with many charming villages and historic towns, a few of which have their own chateau and garden. Visit the small villages for an authentic French experience or stroll around the medieval towns of Loire Valley.

Loire Valley Regions

Centre-Val de Loire, also known as the Centre Region happens to be one of the administrative regions of France. This region includes most of the Loire including the center half of the region. Centre-Val de Loire can be divided into six departments Cher, Eure-et-Loir, Indre, Indre-et-Loire, Loir-et-Cher and Loiret.

  • Cher: Named after the river Cher, it includes major castles like Château d'Ainay-le-Vieil, Château de Culan,Château du Grand-Besse, Château de Pesselières, along with other castles that are currently in ruins or remains in fragments.
  • Eure-et-Loir: Named after the rivers of Eure and Loir rivers, this region mostly includes Château d'Anet, Château de Châteaudun, Château de Levesville, and Château de Maintenon, all of which were rebuilt and repurposed in different periods of history.
  • Indre-et-Loire This west-central region of France is named after the river Indre Loire. It houses some of the most interesting castles in Loire Valley history that have been restored for use like, Château d'Amboise, Château de La Celle-Guenand, Château de Chinon, Château de la Guerche, Château de Langeais, Château de Montpoupon, Château du Rivau and several others. Interestingly most of the castles of this region are still intact or have been rebuilt.
  • Indre: This central region of France is named after the river Indre. It houses some of the most interesting castles in Loire Valley history that have been restored for use like, Château d'Ingrandes and Château du Mont, while several other castles remain in ruins.
  • Loir-et-Cher: With two rivers crossing the region, the Loir in its northern part and the Cher in its southern part, it has few famous castles like Château de Chaumont, Château de Fougères-sur-Bièvre, Château de Matval and Château du Moulin, while other castles remain in ruins.
  • Loiret: Named after the river Loiret, Château de Bellegarde, Château de Chamerolles, Château de Meung-sur-Loire and Château de Sully-sur-Loire are some of the castles that remains intact, or have been rebuilt or repurposed for use.

Know Before You Go: Plan Your Visit To Loire Valley

Getting There
Weather
Food & Drinks
Activities
About Loire Valley

Location: France

  • By Car: Duration: 2hr 52 min via A10
    Cost: €140-€150
  • By Bus: Duration: 3 hours
    Cost: Around €10
  • By Train: Duration: 1 hour 14min via TGV trains
    Cost: €10 - €90
About Loire Valley

The central region of France, the area of Loire Valley in the Nantes and Anjou regions enjoys a temperate climate because of oceanic influences, while towns like Touraine enjoy a semi-continental climate. With mild rainfall in almost every season throughout the year, Loire Valley has pretty enjoyable and comfortable weather. This weather makes it suitable for vineyards and perfect for exploring the region without any discomfort.

Best Time To Visit: Considering the peak season and chilly winds in winter, the best time to visit Loire Valley would be during spring, that is from April to June, and in autumn, that is from September to October.

About Loire Valley

There are a bunch of famous restaurants in Loire Valley with bars and wineries offering premium drinks. Some of the best ones you can try are:

Crêperie La Dentelle: You can enjoy the outdoor seating option of this small restaurant located in the heart of Tours 

La Balade Gourmande - Epicerie Fine: If you are looking for a local taste made from premium ingredients grown locally, this is your go-to place

Restaurant Les Hauts de Loire: For those looking for fine dining options, this can be an excellent choice as reflected by the two Michelin Stars.

Le Chai at Manoir de Restigné: It has one of the best wine collections in the town.

There’s more to Loire Valley than just chateaus and gardens. Here’s a list of things you can do at Loire Valley:

  • Visit Terra Botanica: Botanical Park
  • Visit Parc Oriental de Maulévrier: Largest Oriental Garden in Europe
  • Enjoy rides at The Grand Elephant of Nantes: Fun ride for children
  • Visit Contemporary Creation Centre Olivier Debré: Contemporary Arts Gallery
  • Explore Chartres Cathedral: Cathedral
  • Visit Loire-Anjou-Touraine Regional National Park

Things To Do At Loire Valley

Visit Loire Valley Chateaux

Visit Loire Valley Chateaux

Loire Valley Chateaux are famous all over the world as the valley is a UNESCO Heritage Site since 2000. These chateaux are the architectural heritage of the several historic towns in the Loire Valley, such as Amboise, Chinon, Blois, Angers, and more in France. There are over 300 Loire Valley chateaus ranging from fortified castles to lavish residences built in the later years. If you are fascinated by the history of the French aristocrats, then visit the Loire Valley chateaux to get a glimpse into their life and their cherished gardens.

Loire Valley Gardens

Explore Loire Valley Gardens

Loire Valley is popularly known as the Garden of France. The region experiences a mild climate has fertile soil, and is naturally watered by the rivers that make it easy to grow fruits, vegetables, and flowers here. When Loire Valley castles were built, most of them included extensive gardens in the castle compounds for French royalty to enjoy. The formal French-style garden of Chateau de Villandry is one of the best french gardens. Château de Chaumont also hosts the International Garden Festival every year where landscape artists create beautiful gardens.

Loire Valley Vineyards

Visit Loire Valley Vineyards

Known for its world-famous vineyards, one of the top things to do is to taste the famous Loire Valley wines. Visitors can find vineyards from Nantes to Sancerre and can visit over 1000 vineyards in this region. Out of these, there are 400 accredited wine cellars here. You can meet the winemakers, tour around the vineyards, and taste the different types of Loire Valley wines. There are several entertaining wine events also held here that the wine connoisseurs can attend.

Loire Valley Hot Air Balloon Ride

Hot Air Balloon Ride

Soar high above in the sky and enjoy a view of the lush forests, fairytale-castles, and vineyards from a hot air balloon. Start your hot air balloon tour from one of the chateaus such as Amboise, Chenonceau, Chinon Cheverny, or others. Enjoy a clear look at these architectural wonders from the sky and the wonderful landscape surrounding them. This tour is one of the best ways to witness the beauty of Loire Valley and all the castles and gardens here. 

Frequently Asked Questions Loire Valley

Q. Where is Loire Valley Located?

A. The Loire Valley is located in the center of northern France, in both the regions of Centre-Val de Loire and Pays de la Loire. It is southwest and around 207km from Paris.

Q. Why is Loire Valley important in France’s history?

A. Loire Valley is in a strategic location for trade, and the kings had built fortified castles here to defend against the invaders. During the time of the French Renaissance period, many French aristocrats shifted to the valley and built castles or turned fortified castles to reside in.

Q. How far is Loire Valley from Paris?

A. Loire Valley is a stretch of land that is at a distance of approximately 207 km from the city of Paris. Visit the Paris to Loire Valley page for more information.

Q. How to reach the Loire Valley from Paris?

A. The best way to reach from Paris to Loire Valley Castles is by taking a car as there are only a few train stations close to the cities here. Visit the Paris to Loire Valley page for more information.

Q. What is the largest castle in the Loire Valley?

A. Château de Chambord is the largest castle out of the more than 300 Loire Valley Castles that are available in this region. This castle was a hunting lodge for Francis I whose residence was Château de Amboise and Blois.

Q. What is Loire Valley famous for?

A. The Loire Valley is famous for its chateaux and a wide range of delicious wines. There are over 300 chateaus and 1000 vineyards to explore here.

Q. In which administrative region is Loire Valley located?

A. Loire Valley is located in the Centre-Val de Loire region of France.

Q. What are the departments of Centre-Val de Loire region?

A. Cher, Eure-et-Loir, Indre, Indre-et-Loire, Loir-et-Cher and Loiret are the six departments in which Loire Valley is divided.

Q. What is the best time to visit Loire Valley?

A. Considering the peak season and chilly winds in winter, the best time to visit Loire Valley would be during spring, that is from April to June, and in autumn, that is from September to October.